watering and transplanting seedlings

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
TheDeparted View Drop Down
Sensi Advanced Grower
Sensi Advanced Grower

Online Status: Offline
  Quote TheDeparted Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: watering and transplanting seedlings
    Posted: 08 February 2011 at 16:03
hi guys im just going to put my seedlings into 2 ltr pots.
im using coco and would like to know how much should i water the coco when i do this?
do i pre water the pots then add seedlings or water after there in there new homes?
was going to water to i get 10% run off is this ok?
cheers
Ganja View Drop Down
Sensi Administrator
Sensi Administrator

Quote Ganja Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 08 February 2011 at 16:18
As ever, I'm not an expert with coco, but from my experience with it, it's rather spongy and, in some ways, retains water like rockwool.

With rockwool, one of the ways we'd get a suitable about of water in a cube was to saturate it, then give it a couple of gentle but vigorous shakes in the direction of the floor, which would relase well over half the water.
A 10cm cube could hold 250ml, whereas we liked them to have about 80ml when planting seedlings or newly-rooted clones. A couple of shakes was a good way to get them free of extra moisture.

I think if you soak the coco in the 2lt pots, then give each one a couple of downward shakes over the bath, they'll be left with a nicely moist environment that's not over-saturated.

I'd probably give the transplanted seedling a very light watering around their stem the next day, just in case the water in the pots has mostly migrated to the bottom of the coco fibre.

Maybe experienced coco-growers have a better method.
Auto-flowering Cannabis Seeds!
No growing questions by PM, please!
InvertedVertigo View Drop Down
Sensi Advanced Grower
Sensi Advanced Grower