Nutes and lights

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123 5>
Author
  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
yoka86 View Drop Down
Sensi Seedling
Sensi Seedling

Online Status: Offline
  Quote yoka86 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Nutes and lights
    Posted: 22 November 2009 at 03:25
Originally posted by Ganja

Killing with kindness is a very common problem for first-time growers.Everyone wants their new babies to do as well as possible and, unfortunately, this often means over-watering, over-feeding and over-management of plants. Tiny aberrations in growth pattern, plant appearance or leaf colouring often receive too much attention from worried growers, and steps taken to 'fix' the problem can often make things worse, when the plant in question would have been fine when left to its own devices.Plants generally do best when a few basic growing requirements are met and they are then left alone. I remember when I have little experience in growing, a flatmate was bringing up a few plants in a pot in the back garden. It was a good, sunny spring and he was out there poring over his plants 5 or 10 times per day, watering, examining and fretting that they were growing very, very slowly. Each time he went out to check on them, he'd water them a little more and they stayed in stasis. After about 4 weeks he had to go away for a week, and care of the plants was left to the rest of the house. The plants were allowed to dry out - we only watered them once or twice in that week. When the plants' owner came back, he was surprised to see that they had doubled in size. You could actually see the point at which he went away in the foliage - it went from pale green and misshapen to healthy, dark green and vigorous.Basically, when a plant is young (first 4 weeks), leave it alone as much as possible.